The consortium was designed to reflect the specific necessities required to implement the main ideas and objectives of e-TRAUMA and includes 5 partners from 4 countries (Romania, Turkey, Greece, Germany). In this way the project is following up on the experiences from different national initiatives, but extending the orthopedic training and focusing on a broader progress program based on a comprehensive multi-disciplinary, multi-sectoral and coordinate efforts for management of complex trauma.

Spitalul Clinic de Urgenta Bucuresti

SPITALUL CLINIC DE URGENTA BUCURESTI (CLINICAL EMERGENCY HOSPITAL BUCHAREST / SCUB) is the first emergency hospital in Romania (it was founded in 1934), involved mainly in treating medical and surgical emergencies ,but having an educational and research prodigious activity, as well.

As a teaching hospital, SCUB developed a well trained group of university and research personnel thus becoming a major center for training students, residents and young specialists, able to promote and apply the methods of modern medicine and to apply the tasks of the healthcare reform, according to the EU requests.

The hospital has 731 beds in 16 services, representing the main fields of emergencies, and it provides emergency treatment to people not only from Bucharest, since the most severe cases are brought to SCUB from all over the country.

The Orthopedics and Trauma Clinic has an outstanding experience in trauma management, being traditionally considered as the reference point for orthopedic trauma in our country. Due to this position, not only that the cases are extremely severe and diverse, thus allowing the staff to gain valuable experience, but also the interest to be trained in this clinic is considerable, the increasing number of trainees demonstrating the impact this Clinic has in Romanian Medicine.

University of Craiova

The University of Craiova (UCV) offers excellent conditions of study to its over 13.000 students, in various fields – 11 faculties with several specializations; partner in the ESHE, provides higher education in the various areas including Social Care, Economics and Business, Engineering, Health and Rehabilitation, through the affiliation to the LMD system, according to the Bologna Declaration. UCV cooperates with international, national institutions, local government agencies, SMEs. UCV is an university with an international vocation as it is integrated to the academic European community, sharing its cultural, moral, scientific and educational values, through cooperation programmes, such as SOCRATES, Erasmus +, ALPINE, MSU–AUF, RISU–AUF, PECO etc. UCV is affiliated with EUA (European University Association), CER – Conference of European Rectors; IAU – International Association of Universities; IAUP -International Association of University Presidents; AUF – Agence Universitaire de la Francophonie; BSUN – Black Sea Universities Network; AEUA – Association of Arab and European Universities etc.

National Center for Scientific Research “Demokritos”

The National Center for Scientific Research “Demokritos” (NCSR) is the largest multidisciplinary research center in Greece, with critical mass in expertise and infrastructure in the fields of Nanotechnology, Energy & Environment, Biosciences, Particle and Nuclear Science, Informatics and Telecommunications.

The Center was inaugurated in 1961 as a state-owned entity under the name Nuclear Research Center “Demokritos”. In 1985, it has been renamed as National Center for Scientific Research “Demokritos” and became an autonomous Legal Entity of Public Law supervised by the General Secretariat for Research and Technology (GSRT), while preserving its administrative and financial independence.

NCSR conducts world-class basic and applied research, for advancing scientific knowledge and promoting technological development in selected areas of national socio-economic interest. The Center also plays a pivotal role in graduate education and professional training and its unique infrastructure is employed for high-technology services to the Industry and the Society.

NCSR has contributed significantly and in many ways to:

  • The advancement and world-wide recognition of the Hellenic research activity
  • The development, diffusion and transfer of high quality know-how to public and private sectors
  • The reversal of high-caliber scientific brain drain
  • The provision of highly qualified research personnel to the Greek academic community as well as to the Greek Industry

Mersin University

Mersin University was established with the TBMM’s (Turkey`s National Grand Assembly) law number 3837 dated as 3rd July 1992 and began to function on 10th November 1992. It completed its 20th year in the academic year 2011-2012 and had its first graduates in June 1997.

Mersin University started undergraduate programs for the students in the Faculty of Science and Letters, Faculty of Fine Arts, Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences, Faculty of Engineering, Vocational School of Tourism and Hotel Management, Mersin Vocational School, Gülnar Vocational School, Mut Vocational School, Tarsus Vocational School and for the students of degree programs in the Institute of Social Sciences and in the Institute of Science.

Mersin University Department of Orthopedics and Traumatology has been functioning actively since 1999. It has 6 staff members and 10 residents in training. There are subspecialties groups formed mainly of: Sports Trauma and Arthroscopy, Arthroplasty, Spine, Pediatric Orthopedics, Trauma, Orthopedic Oncology, Hand Surgery. The department serves to the whole interstate area. It is a reference hospital in the region. Annual surgery numbers are approximately 3000 and clinics application numbers are 25.000. All kinds of orthopaedic and trauma surgeries are performed.

The institute has moved to its new hospital building about one year ago. The hospital has 800 bed capacity. There are 16 operation theaters equipped with all necessary technical instruments.

University Hospital of Saarland

The University Hospital of Saarland (Universitätsklinikum des Saarlandes, UKS) is located in the city of Homburg in the southwestern part of Germany, very close to the French and Luxemburg borders. The UKS is the largest hospital of the Saarland, treating more than 200.000 outpatients and more than 50.000 inpatients a year.

Founded in 1909 as a sanatorium for mental diseases, the institution became a district hospital in 1922. In 1947, the Saarland University was established on site in Homburg.

Today, the campus in Homburg represents the medical faculty of the Saarland University with more than 2000 students of medicine and dentistry. More than 250 research partnerships have promoted the reputation of the UKS in different scientific specialities.

The department for Trauma-, Hand- and Reconstructive Surgery of the UKS (Head: Prof. Dr. Tim Pohlemann) has been existing for more than 60 years and is a reference hospital for the region. Since the beginning of the new century, it has in particular become a national and international reference center for the treatment of injuries to the pelvic ring and acetabulum.